Our Offices

If you need legal help, click on the blue button to apply for services.

Apply Online For Our Services

If you need to contact your area Legal Agency, you may call any of our offices below:


East River Legal Services (ERLS)

East River Legal Services (“ERLS”) is a legal aid program committed to providing civil legal assistance to low-income people in the thirty-three (33) eastern South Dakota counties. ERLS is based in Sioux Falls. ERLS also operates the RD Hurd program in cooperation with the University of South Dakota School of Law. 

335 N Main Ave Suite 200
Sioux Falls, SD 57104

Tel: 605-336-9230
Fax: 605-336-6919

Applications accepted via phone: Tuesday Mornings from 9:00AM-12:00PM (CST)

Visit Website

Applications are accepted in this office for the following counties: Aurora, Beadle, Bon Homme, Brookings, Brown, Clark, Clay, Codington, Davison, Day, Deuel, Douglas, Edmunds, Faulk, Hamlin, Hand, Hanson, Hutchinson, Jeraud, Kingsbury, Lake, Lincoln, Marshall, McCook, McPherson, Miner, Minnehaha, Moody, Sanborn, Spink, Turner, Union and Yankton.


Dakota Plains Legal Services (DPLS)

Dakota Plains Legal Services (“DPLS”) is a legal aid program serving low-income and elderly clients in a 33-county area in western South Dakota.  DPLS also serves low-income and elderly Native Americans on all South Dakota Indian Reservations.  Legal Services are provided from six offices in South Dakota in Eagle Butte, Ft. Thompson, Mission, Pine Ridge, Sisseton and Rapid City and one office in Ft. Yates, North Dakota which serves the Standing Rock Reservation located in both North Dakota and South Dakota.

Eagle Butte Office
P.O. Box 500
Eagle Butte, SD  57625

Tel 605-964-2175
Fax 605-964-1215

Serving the counties of Dewey, Haakon, Potter, and Ziebach along with the Cheyenne River Reservation.

Fort Thompson Office
P.O. Box 20
Fort Thompson, SD  57339

Tel 605-245-2341
Fax 605-245-2393

Serving the counties of Brule, Buffalo, Hughes, Hyde, Lyman, Stanley and Sully counties along with the Lower Brule and Crow Creek reservations.

Fort Yates Office
P.O. Box 507
Fort Yates, ND  58538

Tel 701-854-7204
Fax 701-854-3686

Serving the Campbell, Corson, and Walworth counties along with the Standing Rock Reservation.

Mission Office
Administrative Office
P.O. Box 727
Mission, SD  57555

Tel 605-856-4444
Toll Free 800-658-2297
Fax 605-856-2075

Serving the counties of Gregory, Jones, Mellette, Todd and Tripp counties, along with the Rosebud Reservation.

Pine Ridge Office
P.O. Box 1989
Pine Ridge, SD  57770

Tel 605-867-1020
Fax 605-867-1092

Serving the counties of Bennett, Jackson, and Shannon along with the Pine Ridge Reservation.

Rapid City Office
528 Kansas City St., Suite 2
P.O. Box 1500
Rapid City, SD  57709

Tel 605-342-7171
Toll Free 800-742-8602
Fax 605-348-5874

Serving the counties of Butte, Custer, Fall River, Harding, Lawrence, Meade, Pennington and Perkins.

Sisseton Office
301 Veterans Ave., Suite 4
Sisseton, SD  57262

Tel 605-698-3971
Fax 605-698-4156

Serving the counties of Grant, Roberts, and Charles Mix along with the Flandreau, Lake Traverse, and Yankton Reservations.


Visit Website

Access To Justice 

Access to Justice, Inc. (“A2J, Inc.”) came about as the result of ten years of state planning for legal services in South Dakota and was incorporated by the State Bar of South Dakota as a 501(c)(3) organization in 2005. Today, A2J, Inc. is a statewide program based in Pierre, South Dakota, and its primary function is to administer the State Bar of South Dakota pro bono and modest means programs. 

222 E Capital Ave #3
Pierre, SD 57501

Tel: 1-855-287-3510

Visit Website

Last updated on .

Table of Contents